Alumni Association inducts two honorary lifetime members

Long-time faculty members Larry Swanson, PharmD, and Jim Boyd, PharmD, MBA, were installed as honorary lifetime members of the Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ Alumni Association during the institution’s 25th Anniversary Gala on April 28 in Raleigh.


The honorary lifetime membership was created to recognize individuals who have shown outstanding commitment to the College and the Alumni Association. The honorary membership is the highest honor a non-CPHS alumnus can receive from the Association. 


In recognition of his dedication and outstanding work ethic, Swanson has successfully led and advanced the Department of Pharmacy Practice for more than 20 years. He arrived at Campbell in 1991 as chair and professor of pharmacy practice and continues to serve in the same capacity.


A supportive faculty member and mentor to students, Swanson is especially known for administering the Top 300 Drug Exam, a challenging exam that tests third-year students on their knowledge of the 300 most commonly prescribed medications. 


“All of us know that this is a special place and I will cherish the memories that have been made here,” Swanson said. “Now being a member of the Alumni Association, I can take special pride in being part of the elite group of graduates from our outstanding pharmacy program.  However, unlike actual alumni, I didn’t have to pass the top 300 exam to get this award!  Thanks so much for this honor.”


Serving at the College for more than 20 years, Boyd is currently an associate professor of pharmacy practice and the director of the dual PharmD/MBA degree program. When he arrived at Campbell in 1990, Boyd was asked to create the dual program in business. It was launched in 1991, and he has successfully managed the program, and taught courses in law, business and administration throughout his time at Campbell.


Known for his open door policy and compassion with students, Boyd has also proven himself as a dedicated faculty member by assisting students with special needs, advising pre-pharmacy students and providing pharmacist coverage at the University’s Student Health Service.


“Our students and now graduates are kind, respectful and great people, making membership in your group even more special,” Boyd said. “The award was a big surprise and one that will be a highlight in my professional life.  It was wonderful to have you as students and now as colleagues. Thank you.” 


This year’s recipients join six other honorary lifetime members (listed by order of induction):

  • Ronald Maddox, PharmD, dean and professor
  • Betty Wallace, prior staff member
  • Tom Holmes, PhD, director of pharmaceutical sciences programs
  • Dan Teat, PharmD, prior faculty member
  • Jack Watts, DSc, member, Campbell University Board of Trustees & Dean’s Board of Advisors
  • James Junker, PhD, prior faculty member

Photo: Alumni Association President-Elect Mary Margaret Johnson, PharmD ’05, MBA ’05, MSCR ’07, presents Larry Swanson, PharmD, chair and professor of pharmacy practice, and Jim Boyd, PharmD, MBA, associate professor of pharmacy practice, with honorary lifetime memberships to the College’s Alumni Association.