Lewis receives national pharmacy award

Kimberly Lewis, PharmD, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, received the Young Pharmacist Award from the National Pharmaceutical Association (NPhA) during the organization’s annual meeting in Las Vegas on July 20-23.


The Young Pharmacist Award recognizes individuals with eager and effective participation in the association and pharmacy profession. Recipients must be a licensed pharmacist practitioner who has been in the profession for a minimum of five years and has been an active NPhA member.


“I was shocked when I heard my name, and it took me a minute to respond,” Lewis said. “I am extremely honored!” 


Lewis currently serves as a practice-based faculty member and clinical pharmacist practitioner at the Southern Regional Area Health Education Center in Fayetteville.


As a faculty member, Lewis believes it is essential to play a part in her students’ professional development; to fulfill this role she has served as an advisor of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association’s (SNPhA) chapter at Campbell University since 2007.


Lewis was an active member of SNPhA, the student affiliate of NPhA, as a pharmacy student, eventually serving as her local chapter’s president and national officer. Today she remains a dedicated member of NPhA by serving as clinical initiatives chairperson and zone two director trainee.


Lewis holds a BS degree in biology from Tougaloo College and a PharmD from the University of Tennessee. She is a board certified ambulatory care pharmacist and a certified anticoagulation care provider.


The National Pharmaceutical Association, founded in 1947, is the oldest and largest professional society representing the views and ideals of minority pharmacists on critical issues affecting health care and pharmacy. NPhA is a leader in the pharmaceutical care arena that addresses socio-economic issues affecting the individual patient and advances the standards of care in all practice settings.