May named chair of pharmacy practice

D. Byron May, PharmD, has been named chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Campbell University’s College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences.


"We are grateful that Dr. May has accepted the position. He is an accomplished scholar, gifted teacher and respected leader within our College," said Ron Maddox, PharmD, dean of the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences and vice president of health programs.


May joined the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences as a faculty member in 1989, and has been an integral part of the department through his teaching and research, and numerous presentations and published articles over the past 20 years.


“I am honored and humbled by this opportunity,” May said. “I can't think of a more talented group of faculty, staff, alumni and students in any school of pharmacy than what we have at Campbell and to represent them as chair is a privilege.”  


Rising through the ranks as a tenured professor in 2009, May has also served as vice-chair of curriculum and faculty development since 2009. He has practiced pharmacy as a clinical specialist in adult internal medicine at Duke University Hospital since 1989, directed the Duke PGY1 residency for 12 years and co-directed the College’s PGY2 specialty residency in adult internal medicine, infectious disease and academics with Duke University Hospital since 1998.


May received his PharmD degree from the University of Florida at Gainesville and completed a pharmacy practice residency at Duke in 1989. He is a board certified pharmacotherapy specialist and recently completed the Academic Leadership Fellows Program through the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.


“The opportunities for our department are expanding with the growth of the health sciences programs. Our faculty is uniquely qualified to take on new roles within the College working with our interprofessional colleagues,” May said. “My sincere thanks to Dr. Swanson, who for over 20 years has worked diligently to grow, develop and mentor our department. Filling his shoes will be a monumental task.”


May’s appointment was effective on August 1. He succeeds Larry Swanson, PharmD, who is retiring in September after serving 21 years as chair.